Internal Monologue

Feather pen

Maybe it’s just me.

But I love writing, and I love books, and I love stories, and therefore my internal monologue, ever since I was able to formulate coherent sentences in my mind, has always sounded like a novel.

You see, I will be going along, living my life, and the little thoughts that go through my head will end with, “I thought dismissively” or “the thought passed through my head like a whisper”. And in conversation everyone’s speaking will end with “her words were absentminded, her voice like sandpaper” or “he said nonchalantly”.

Now, before you go, “good grief, crazy lady, that’s the weirdest thing I’ve ever heard”, I’ll clarify that this doesn’t happen all the time, and it’s not done voluntarily. It comes and goes, and it just kind of happens. One thing that I’ve noticed, and felt inclined to share with you, is that the “writing style” my internal monologue follows is often influenced by the books I’ve been reading, or even TV shows or movies that I’ve been watching. I tend to get caught up in various fictional worlds until they seep into my everyday thoughts.

So, for example, after reading a mystery book such as Nancy Drew, my mind will be all “and she had a hunch that the ticking noise was coming from the other side of the wall”. If I’m immersed in some YA dystopian series like The Hunger Games, my walk through the school will feature things like “I must get up the stairs and reach my next class. It is the only way if I am to survive”. After reading something like The Lord of the Rings, my thoughts will be more “and the group made their way to the far away land of Music, where strange wonders waited”. And like I said, TV and movies can infiltrate my thoughts, too. After I marathoned the entire series of Sherlock, my thoughts were solely in a British accent for a few days. And featured some marvelously large words.

Basically, I love how fictional stories and specific writing styles can get so deeply rooted into our minds and stay with us long after we’ve left their imaginary worlds. Maybe not everyone has an internal monologue that sounds like a novel, maybe I really am just an exceptionally strange human being (maybe I’m not even human), but I think most of us can attest to getting caught up in a good story from time to time.

Thank you for joining me on this brief guided tour of my mind. Enjoy the rest of your day.

3 Comments

  1. Do you ever wonder what went through the mind of the great authors while they wrote? What was Shakespeare thinking(‘smells bad in this poorly lit inn’) or Fitzgerald(‘one more page than I can go get wasted!’) ot Atwood or whoever…maybe you’re not that unusual…

    Cvet

    Like

  2. You’re not alone:) I have a weird thing like that too. Anything, a place, a movie, a story, a song or even a word can make me imagine if I was in a particular time, set or situation. To make it clear here’s an example: When I visit an old castle I walk in it as lived there and if I lived at the time when people actually had lived inside of it. Also, when I watch a movie, play or read a story I cannot behave as an audience. I imagine myself if I was in that set with the other characters, if I were the part of the story. Therefore, I get very emotional when I watch or read something. Sometimes, a character has such a strong influence on me that I start to talk, laugh or have gestures like her or him.

    I don’t think that you weird or crazy or other things you call yourself. Instead, you are amazing, unique and your blog posts are always great. I look forward to read your next one:)

    Like

  3. You aren’t weird.
    Derpy things like this pop up in my mind ALL of the time when I’m doing something, but for me my thoughts appear as little tunes or songs in my head rather than movies and books.
    Like a Broadway musical 🙂
    It happens to the most creative of us 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment